Storytelling Award — $500

The Storytelling Award recognizes excellence in storytelling in non-traditional formats.

Open to organizations, groups and individuals who engage the hearts and minds of visitors while exploring British Columbia’s rich heritage, the award seeks to reward those who dream big, push boundaries to innovate and take risks, regardless of organizational size, budget or size.

Eligible Individuals & Organizations

Nominations for the Storytelling Award are open to all individuals and organizations working with history and heritage in the Province of British Columbia. Nominees must be nominated by a member of the BCHF.

Eligible Projects

  • Design and presentation of virtual programs;
  • exhibitions;
  • video series;
  • and more.


Winners of the Storytelling Award shall receive a certificate and $500. Winners will be announced at the Awards Gala at the annual BCHF Conference.

How to Nominate

Fill out the online form to nominate. Please email Anna with any additional documents or questions:


Nomination Deadline

Nominations are due by 11:59 pm on March 1

Past winners

• 2022-23 Chinatown Storytelling Centre

• 2021-22 Nikkei National Museum and Cultural Centre
Honorable mention: Maple Ridge Family History Group

Formerly the Newsletter Award. Presented for news and media resources including newsletters, blogs, social media campaigns, print media campaigns, videos and postcasts adminstered by a BCHF member society active in the year the award was presented.

• 2020: Natalia Deros, Stories to Spaces: Local Community Places, Heritage Abbotsford Society

• 2019: Mark Forsythe (Langley), Valley Voices

• 2018: Silvery Slocan Historical Society (New Denver), The Silver Standard

• 2017: Vancouver Historical Society, Newsletter

• 2016: Vancouver Postcard Club, Postview

• 2015: No award

• 2014: Vancouver Postcard Club, Postview

• 2013: Vancouver General Hospital, School of Nursing Alumnae Association, Newsletter

• 2012: Friends of the North Vancouver Museum and Archives Society, Newsletter

• 2011: Vancouver Postcard Club, Newsletter

• 2010: BC History of Nursing Society, Newsletter

• 2009: Hudson’s Hope Historical Society, Newsletter (co-recipient)

• 2009: Ama Liisaos Heritage Trust Society, Newsletter (co-recipient)

In 1999 David Mattison of Victoria suggested that the Federation sponsor a contest for the best website about British Columbia history. The British Columbia Historical Federation endorsed this proposal and together with Mattison jointly sponsored an annual award that ran through 2020, although it was last awarded in 2018.

• 2020 No award

• 2019 No award

• 2018 Maurice Guibord, Société historique Francophone de la Colombie-Britannique

• 2017 Anita Petersen and Lenore Radom, BC History of Nursing Society

• 2016 Mary-Leah de Zwart, BC Food History Network

• 2015 Mike Yusko, BC Dairy Historical Society

• 2014 Eve Lazarus, Every Place Has a Story

• 2013 Jack Brown, Surrey History

• 2012 Richard Rowberry, A History of John Houston

• 2011 Walter Volovsek, Trails in Time

• 2010 Jack Bennest, BC Radio History

• 2009 No award

• 2008 Fred Braches, Slumach: a website for all who prefer facts over fiction

• 2007 OCS staff/volunteers, J. Kent (design), Old Cemeteries Soc. of Victoria

• 2006 Donald M. Wilson, The Virtual Crowsnest Highway

• 2005 No award

• 2004 Herb Daum, Cassiar … do you remember?

• 2003 B. Fitzpatrick (content), K. Lee (design) BC History of Nursing Group

• 2002 Mark McKenzie (content), C. Jones (design) Samson V Maritime Mus.

• 2001 Christopher J. Garrish, British Columbia License Plates: A History

• 2000 Floyd Low and Patricia A. Rogers, 54th (Kootenay) Battalion, CEF

• 1999 Mark Nelson Prince George Oral History Group