Awards Winners of British Columbia Historical Federation Historical Writing Competition

Winners of British Columbia Historical Federation Historical Writing Competition

The award celebrates books that make significant contributions to the historical literature of British Columbia

(British Columbia, May 2016) The British Columbia Historical Federation (BCHF) is pleased to announce the winners for the Annual Historical Writing Competition. The prizes were awarded on Saturday, May 27, 2017 at the Book Awards Gala at the Coast Hotel in Chilliwack, BC as part of the BCHF Annual Conference. Congratulations to all the winners.

The Lieutenant-Governor’s Medal for Historical Writing 2016
The BC Lieutenant Governor’s Medal for historical writing and $2,500 was awarded to Anthony Kenyon for The Recorded History of the Liard Basin 1790-1910. Fort Nelson News Ltd. (author from Fort Nelson).

2nd prize, $1500. Mapping My Way Home: A Gitxsan History by Neil J. Sterritt, Creekstone Press (author from Williams Lake).

3rd prize, $500. A Perfect Eden by Michael Layland, Touchwood Editions (author from Victoria).

Honourable mentions

The Native Voice: The History of Canada’s First Aboriginal Newspaper and Its Founder Maisie Hurley by Eric Jamieson, Caitlin Press (author from North Vancouver.

Community History Award

Local and community history often provides the most sought-after information by historians researching a particular area. This is where the trivia and the stories can be found, not to mention the skeletons! The Community History Award was instituted to ensure these histories are recognized.

Where Mountains Meet the Sea: An Illustrated History of the District of North Vancouver by Daniel Francis, Harbour Publishing (author from North Vancouver).

CONTACT: Maurice Guibord
British Columbia Historical Federation