2019 Courtenay Shortlist Announced for 2019 BCHF Historical Writing Competition

Shortlist Announced for 2019 BCHF Historical Writing Competition

The British Columbia Historical Federation is pleased to announce the shortlist for the Annual Historical Writing Competition. Congratulations to all the finalists.

Finalists in Alphabetical Order by Last Name

Chow, Lily, Blossoms in the Gold Mountains: Chinese Settlements in the Fraser Canyon and the Okanagan, Caitlin Press

Converse, Cathy, Against the Current: The Remarkable Life of Agnes Deans Cameron, Touchwood Editions

Mather, Ken, Trail North: The Okanagan Trail of 1858-68 and its Origins in British Columbia and Washington, Heritage House Publishing

McCreary, Tyler, Shared Histories: Witsuwit’en-Settler Relations in Smithers, British Columbia, 1913 – 1973, Creekstone Press

Reimer, Chad, Before We Lost the Lake: A Natural and Human History of Sumas Valley, Caitlin Press

Rohn, Bruce, S.S. Minto: The Arrow Lakes Longest Serving Sternwheeler, Arrow Lakes Historical Society          

Strong-Boag, Veronica, The Last Suffragist: Standing The Life and Times of Laura Marshall Jamieson, UBC Press

The BC Lieutenant-Governor’s Medal for Historical Writing will be awarded together with $2,500 to the author whose book makes the most significant contribution to the historical literature of British Columbia. The 2nd place winner will receive $1,500 and 3rd place, $500. A book will also be awarded the Community History Award and $500.

Certificates of Honourable Mention may be awarded to other books as recommended by the judges. The winners will be announced at the British Columbia Historical Federation Conference Book Awards Gala on Saturday, June 8, 2019, 7:00 pm at the Native Sons Hall, Courtenay, tickets are available for purchase here.