Recognition Awards

Each year, the British Columbia Historical Federation recognizes outstanding contributions by individuals and groups to the study and promotion of British Columbia history.

Submit nomination now

You can email letters of support directly to

Awarded to long-serving members who are retiring from the BCHF Council and to members or friends of the BCHF who have given exceptional service to the organization either for a specific project or for long service.
  • Nomination deadline: March 1
  • Up to 3 certificates may be awarded
May be given to groups or individuals who have made a significant contribution to the study or promotion of British Columbia history. The award may be for an individual project or for an activity over time.
  • Nomination deadline: March 1
  • Up to 2 certificates may be awarded
Awarded to individual members of BCHF Member Societies who have given exceptional service to their organization or community either for a specific project or for long service in the preservation of British Columbia’s history.
  • Nomination deadline: March 1
  • Up to 3 certificates may be awarded


Award of Recognition: Hälle and Linda Flygare, Canmore. For preserving, documenting and marking the Alexander Mackenzie (Nuxalk-Dakelh Grease) Trail.

Award of Recognition: Vancouver Island Local History Society. For preserving Victoria’s Point Ellice House and decolonizing narratives associated with the property, its inhabitants and the land.

Award of Merit: Tom Bown, Victoria. For his longstanding contributions to research and public education within the historic archaeological field in BC.

Award of Merit: Sigidimnak Nox Ts’aawit Dr. Amy Parent and the Nisga’a Ni’isjoohl Memorial Pole Rematriation team. For their steadfast determination to return the Ni’isjoohl memorial pole to Nisga’a territory.

Award of Appreciation: Shawn Lamb, Nelson (posthumous). For a lifetime of service to the museum sector and dedicated work to establish the Nelson Museum Archives and Gallery.

Award of Appreciation: Maurice Guibord, Vancouver. For service on BCHF council, including as convenor of the Lieutenant-Governor’s Awards for Historical Writing.


Award of Recognition: Marlin (Marl) Brown, Fort Nelson (posthumous). For founding and curating the Fort Nelson Heritage Museum.

Award of Merit: Bill Wilson, Nanaimo. For actively sharing and inspiring others to take up interest in unknown and unearthed bottles.

Award of Merit: Kevin Eastwood and Siren Screen Productions. For the documentary series British Columbia: An Untold History, focusing on under-told and untold histories of marginalized British Columbians.


Award of Recognition: T.W. Paterson, Cowichan Valley. For promoting an understanding of history through his many publications and tireless pursuit of the past.

Award of Recognition: Christine Meutzner, Nanaimo. For almost 25 years of promoting history and heritage as archivist and manager of the Nanaimo Community Archives.

Award of Merit: Paul Koroscil, Naramata. For outstanding contributions to the study and promotion of BC history as an author and instructor and assistant professor at Simon Fraser University.

Award of Appreciation: Caroline Ross, ParksvilleFor service on BCHF council, including as vice-president and membership co-ordinator.

Award of Appreciation: Michael Gibbs, Surrey. For service on BCHF council, and spearheading the 2021 conference.


Award of Recognition: Diane Johnson, Surrey. For volunteering at the Surrey Archives for 11 years, contributing 1,030 hours of her time in2 019 alone.

Award of Recognition: Chris Hay, Vancouver. For his efforts to have the Stanley Park Rock Garden recognized as a historic site locally and nationally.


Award of Recognition: Kyle Kusch, Nakusp. For his exceptional service as archives technician for the Arrow Lakes Historical Society.

Awards of Recognition: Linda Peterat, Patti Wild and Elaine Gruenwad, Vernon. For their exceptional service to their community in the creation and operation of the Silver Star Mountain Museum.

Award of Recognition: Jack Bates. For 19 years of tirelessly promoting the military history of Work Point Barracks and Fort Macaulay.

Award of Merit: Vancouver School Board Archives and Heritage Committee. For assembling countless filing cabinets of photographs and other collectables from Vancouver primary and high schools.


Award of Recognition: Robert and Diane Sterne, Coalmont. For working tirelessly to preserve of the history of Granite Creek. 

Award of Recognition: Heather Cooper, Bamfield Historical Society. For sharing and promoting the history of Bamfield through publications, signage projects and exhibits.


Award of Appreciation: Glennis Zilm. For her tireless work as a member of the BCHF Advocacy Committee.

Award of Recognition: Bob Hayes, Okanagan Historical Society. For leadership roles in the production of a number of historical publications.

• Award of Recognition: Jonathan (Jon) Ambler. For exemplary work as program manager and volunteer coordinator for the Comox Air Force Museum and his involvement in researching and promoting BC’s aviation history.

• Award of Recognition: Librarians of the BC Genealogical Society. Over a period of 46 years, 12 librarians have guided the society and grown one of the province’s premier genealogical libraries.

• Award of Merit: Robert D. Turner. For his work in the fields of technology and transportation history in BC in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Award of Merit: John Horton. For contributing to our historical understanding and interpretation of British Columbia’s naval history through his artwork.


Award of Recognition: Tom Lymbery and John Whittaker. For working tirelessly in making Revelstoke’s Walker Moberly cairn a reality.

Award of Merit: John Azar. For outstanding contributions to heritage and community relations with the commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the opening of Victoria’s Bay Street Armouries.

Award of Merit: Godfrey Archbold. For his instrumental efforts in the preservation of the province’s historic title and survey records as CEO of the Land Title and Survey Authority of BC.

Award of Appreciation: Kerri Gibson. For service on BCHF council.

Award of Appreciation: David Mattison. For his generous endowment to the Best Website prize.


Award of Appreciation: Ken Wuschke. For leadership and energy toward the anniversaries project.

• Award of Merit: Dorothy Dodge, Lytton: In recognition of outstanding leadership in the Lytton Museum and Archives.