2016 Revelstoke BCHF Annual Recognition Awards

BCHF Annual Recognition Awards

Revelstoke, May 28, 2016 ─  The British Columbia Historical Federation (BCHF) presented their annual recognition awards at the Revelstoke Mountain Resort in Revelstoke, BC at the 2016 BCHF Annual Conference.

The BC Dairy Historical Society picked up the award for the Best Website award. Under the direction of Mike Yusko, the website contains informative content about the BC Dairy industry, which includes archival video, photographs and digitized Butter-Fat magazines presented in a visually pleasing way. Recognition Committee Chair, Shannon Bettles commented that “the website effectively promotes the history of the dairy Industry in British Columbia.”

The BCHF also recognized Tom Lymbery and John Whittaker with a Certificate of Recognition. The team worked tirelessly in making Revelstoke’s Walker Moberly cairn a reality. BCHF Past-President Barry Gough commented: “Tom and John took charge, gathered and maintained support of the local community, its government, the Land Surveyors of BC and, of course the BCHF. It has taken years to move this project to completion, the “fearless duo” never wavered and never strayed from the path of recognition. Their strength of leadership, their tenacity and their perseverance in the face of adversity and time, is in the finest tradition of the Federation.”

Two Certificates of Merit were awarded at the banquet, one each to John Azar and Godfrey Archbold. Azar was recognized for outstanding contributions to heritage and community relations with the commemoration of the 100th Anniversary of the opening and use of Victoria’s Bay Street Armouries. Retiring CEO of the Land Title and Survey Authority of BC, Archbold was instrumental in the preservation of the province’s historic title and survey records.

The BC Historical Federation also acknowledged outgoing board member Kerri Gibson’s years of service and David Mattison’s generous endowment to the Best Website fund with Certificates of Appreciation.

Please contact:
Shannon Bettles
Chair, Recognition Committee
British Columbia Historical Federation