2014 winners, Greg Dickson, BCHF Honorary President Jacqueline Gresko, and Mark Forsythe. Photo by Darren Durupt.

British Columbia Historical Federation

33rd Annual Historical Writing Awards

The British Columbia Historical Federation invites submissions for the 33rd Annual Historical Writing Awards for authors of British Columbia History.


To be eligible for this competition, books must be published in 2015.
Non-fiction books representing any aspect of BC history are eligible.
Reprints or revisions of books are not eligible.
Books may be submitted by authors or publishers.

Judging Criteria

Judges are looking for quality presentations and fresh material. Submissions will be evaluated in the following areas:
Scholarship: quality of research and documentation, comprehensiveness, objectivity and             accuracy
Presentation: organization, clarity, illustrations and graphics, index, table of contents
Accessibility: readability and audience appeal

Lieutenant Governor’s Medal and Other Prizes

The B.C. Lieutenant Governor’s Medal for Historical Writing will be awarded together with $2500 to the author whose book makes the most significant contribution to the history of British Columbia.

The 2nd and 3rd place winners will receive $1500 and $500 respectively.

The Community History Award winner will receive $500.

Certificates of Honorable Mention may be awarded to other books as recommended by the judges.


All winners will receive publicity and free admission to the BCHF Award’s Banquet at the BCHF annual conference in May 2016 in Revelstoke.

Submission Requirements

See how to enter.

Submission Deadline: December 31, 2015

By submitting books for this competition, the authors agree that the British Columbia Historical Federation may use their name in press releases and in its publications.

Copies of books sent to the judges become the property of the BCHF.