BCHF News Free Community History Webinar Series

Free Community History Webinar Series

Canada’s History is offering a free near-weekly community history webinar series from January 24 to March 28, 2018, with presentations posted to YouTube after each session.

The Canada’s History Community History Webinar Series shares stories and experiences of communities from throughout Canada that have made significant efforts to preserve and share their local histories.

The series features community history project coordinators sharing the frameworks, challenges and successes of their own community history projects.

Each webinar is one hour in length, including time for a Q&A period. All presentations are free to attend and will be recorded and published on the Canada’s History YouTube channel.

To register or learn more, visit Community History Webinar Series.

Series schedule:

  • January 24, 2018 – 12:00 PM CT (10:00 a.m. PT) – Andrew Bear Robe discusses the Making Treaty 7 Cultural Society’s groundbreaking theatrical presentation, Making Treaty 7.
  • January 31, 2018 – time TBD – Connie Wyatt Anderson reflects on her role as an educator on the Opaskwayak Cree Nation. Connie is a 2014 recipient of the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Teaching.
  • February 7, 2018 – time TBD – Jessie Kaur Lehail discusses the Kaur Project, an online project that gives a voice to Sikh women.
  • February 15, 2018 – 11:00 a.m. CT (9:00 a.m. PT) – Miranda Jimmy discusses RISE – Reconciliation in Solidarity Edmonton, a group of citizens committed to supporting reconciliation through words and actions. This project received an honourable mention at the 2016 Governor General’s History Awards.
  • February 28, 2018  – 11:00 a.m. CT (9:00 a.m. PT) – Paul Gareau discusses Indigenous Canada, a massive online open course from the University of Alberta that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada.
  • March 7, 2018 – 2:00 p.m. CT (12:00 p.m. PT) – Kris Foulds discusses the Voices of the Valley exhibition from The Reach Gallery Museum in Abbotsford. This exhibition received the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Community Programming in 2016.
  • March 14, 2018 – 11:00 a.m. CT (9 a.m. PT) – Andria Hill discusses the Wolfville Historical Society’s Mona Parsons Commemoration Project. This project was shortlisted for the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Community Programming in 2017.
  • March 28, 2018 – 12:00 PM CT (10 a.m. PT) – Tracy Calogheros and Alyssa Tobin discuss the Hodul’eh-a: A Place of Learning Gallery and Memorandum of Understanding between the Lheidli T’enneh First Nation and the Exploration Place Museum and Science Centre in Prince George. This collaborative project received the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Community Programming in 2017.